GOARCH - March 31, 1998

Archbishop Spyridon Leads Faithful in Celebration

New York,NY - Tens of thousands of Hellenes and Philhellenes lined New York's Fifth Avenue on a sun drenched Sunday, March 29, to watch the largest ever Greek Independence Day Parade in New York City. The Parade was highlighted by the appearance of the Presidential Guard Evzones and contingents, floats and bands representing area Greek Orthodox churches and Greek federations and organizations.

A crescendo of cheers greeted His Eminence Archbishop Spyridon, Governor George Pataki, Mayor Rudolph Giuliani and representatives from Greece including: Grand Marshals Yianna and Theodore Angelopoulos, Honorary Grand Marshal Foreign Minister of Greece Theodore Pangalos, Mayor of Athens Dimitris Avramopoulos, Senator Paul Sarbanes, members of the diplomatic corps, United States and Greek government officials and the Federation of Hellenic Societies, Parade organizers.

The glorious day began at the Archdiocesan Cathedral of the Holy Trinity where Archbishop Spyridon presided at a Doxology celebrating the 177th Anniversary of Greek Independence Day. He spoke of the spiritual and national significance of the day for all Hellenes and welcomed all those in attendance, including the Parade dignitaries and Evzones.

His Eminence received several delegations at the Archdiocese and participated in official events in celebration of Greek Independence Day. On Friday, March 27th, the Archbishop received the official Greek Independence Day proclamation at City Hall from Mayor Rudolph Giuliani and an official resolution from Queens Borough President Claire Shulman at Borough Hall. Earlier that day, His Eminence met at the Archdiocese with four members of the Greek Parliament Committee on Hellenes Abroad, Gregory Niotis, Panagiotis Skandalakis, Nicholas Levogiannis and Manolis Beteniotis. On Saturday evening, His Eminence participated in ceremonies hosted by the Federation of Hellenic Societies honoring Foreign Minister Theodore Pangalos with the first annual Greek Independence Day Award.

  March 31, 1998 ]