GOARCH - July 27, 1998

Archbishop Spyridon to Co-Chair Lutheran-Orthodox Dialogue in Sweden

New York, NY - His Eminence Archbishop Spyridon, Primate of the Greek Orthodox Church in America and Orthodox Co-Chairman of the Lutheran-Orthodox Joint Commission, will travel to Sigtuna, a small town near Stockholm, Sweden, to participate in this year's session of the Dialogue from July 31-August 8. His Eminence will be accompanied by the V. Rev. Archimandrite John Heropoulos.

Thirty-five renowned Orthodox and Lutheran theologians will gather in the Sigtunastiftelsen Conference Center to discuss the doctrines of "Grace, Justification and Synergy". Prof. Dr. Bruce Marshall of Northfield, MN, will present a paper entitled, "Salvation as Justification and Deification" and Prof. Dr. Vlassios Phidas of Athens, Greece, will present a paper entitled, "Synergy and Salvation". Both professors will be the major presenters of the Joint Commission.

Joining His Eminence Archbishop Spyridon, Co-Chair, who will be representing the Ecumenical Patriarchate, will be the Orthodox delegation including: Metropolitan Gennadios of Sassima, representing the Ecumenical Patriarchate and the Church of Albania; Prof. Basil Anagnostopoulos of the Patriarchate of Alexandria; Albert Laham of the Patriarchate of Antioch; Prof. Alexy Osipov of the Patriarchate of Moscow; Bishop Dr. Irenej of Backa of the Patriarchate of Serbia; Rev. Prof. Dr. Viorel Ionita of the Patriarchate of Romania; Bishop George of Chkhondidi of the Patriarchate of Georgia; Metropolitan Chrysanthos of the Church of Cyprus; V. Rev. Prof. Dr. John Romanides of the Church of Greece; Rev. Dr. Jersy Tofiluk of the Church of Poland; Bishop Dr. Chrystoforos of Moravia of the Church of Czechlands and Slovakia; Protopresbyter Rovasti Olavi Merras of the Church of Finland and Prof. Totiu Koev of the Church of Bulgaria.

Co-Chair Bishop Dr. William Lazareth of Princeton, NJ, will lead the the Lutheran delegation which includes: Prof. Dr. Anna Marie Aagaard of Denmark; Rev. Dr. Ruth Albrech of Germany; Rt. Rev. Dr. Lark Eckerdal of Sweden; Prof. Dr. Karl Christian Felmy of Germany; Rt. Rev. Dr. Gnanabharanam Johnson of India; Rt. Rev. Prof. D. Georg Kretschmar of Russia; Prof. Dr. Bruce Marshall of Northfield, MN; Rev. Prof. Dr. Toomas Paul of Estonia; Rev. Prof. Dr. Hermann Pitters of Romania; Rev. Tasgara Hirpo of Germany; and Rt. Rev. Dr. Kalevi Toiviainen of Finland.

  July 27, 1998 ]